Skip to main content

VITA Tax Program Receives National Award

VITA volunteers with their Silver Award

Members of the EKU campus community do much more than simply contribute to the local economy.

Students, faculty and staff contributed more than 7,500 hours of volunteer service in 2015-16, with 70 individuals earning honors from The President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation. They were recognized at a recent campus reception.

The White House established the President’s Volunteer Service Award (PVSA) in 2003 to honor volunteers and promote volunteerism. The program is operated by the Office of the President of the United States, the Corporation for National and Community Service and Points of Light, an international non-profit promoting volunteerism. Eastern became a certifying institution for the PVSA in 2015.

A Silver Award went to a group of accounting students who served with the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) program. As a group, the 35 students, working with faculty member Trish Isaacs, totaled 943 hours assisting low-income residents, persons with disabilities, and taxpayers who spoke only limited English.

Five individual students received a Silver Award for completing more than 175 hours of service: Halle Graham, Brooke King, Macie New, Mari Kaitlin Palmer and Victoria Tackett.

In his remarks, President Benson said the students lived up the true mission of a university, as outlined by Daniel Coit Gilman when he was inaugurated as the first president of Johns Hopkins University in 1876: “It means a wish for less misery among the poor, less ignorance in schools, less bigotry in the temple, less suffering in the hospital, less fraud in business, less folly in politics.”

Fifteen additional students, who each completed more than 100 hours of service individually, were honored for their work with various organizations: Taylor Barrickman, Dylan Bogard, Taylor Grayson, Sofia Guadagni, Morgan Hannah, Elizabeth Miller, Rebecca Simpson-Pinkston, Jenna Shearer, Madison Smith, Mackenzie Stovall, Kylie Tillett, Bailey Tipton, Cody Whittington, Feleasha Wink and Nathan Zachary.

Read more on the President's Volunteer Service Award...

Published on May 09, 2016

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/